Get the Facts

 
  • Current enrolment is at 90%
  • Highest AVERAGE enrolment of city schools for the past five years
  • Lowest decline in enrolment in the past decade
  • Fewest bused students in the city
  • Lowest operating costs/lowest projected capital costs
  • Full and dynamic curriculum
  • PCVS has as many sports teams as any other high school in the city
  • Excellent supply of co-op opportunities within a five minute walk
  • Integrated Arts most popular/successful program in the city
  • 85% of businesses surveyed felt a closure of PCVS would have a long-term effect on the health of the downtown and therefore have an indirect negative effect on their business
  • Loss of 900 people, including both students and staff, would detract from the vibrancy of downtown
  • The closure of PCVS does NOT solve any enrolment shortfalls. By 2014 there will be over 1000 empty spaces in city (high)schools
  • PCVS founded in 1827

Premier McGuinty:
dmcguinty.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org
Min. of Education Laurel Broten:
lbroten.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org
MPP Jeff Leal:
jleal.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org

School Board Trustees who supported
the recommendation to close PCVS:
Cathy Abraham: cathy_abraham@kprdsb.ca
Steven Cooke: steven_cooke@kprdsb.ca
Cyndi Dickson: cyndi_dickson@kprdsb.ca
Gordon Gilchrist: gordon_gilchrist@kprdsb.ca
Angela Lloyd: angela_lloyd@kprdsb.ca
Diane Lloyd: diane_lloyd@kprdsb.ca
Wes Marsden: wes_marsden@kprdsb.ca

KPRDSB Trustees who
want to keep PCVS open:
Rose Kitney:
rose_kitney@kprdsb.ca
Jaine Klassen-Jeninga:
jaine_klassenjeninga@kprdsb.ca
Roy Wilfong:
roy_wilfong@kprdsb.ca
Shirley Patterson:
shirley_patterson@kprdsb.ca

  2 Responses to “Get the Facts”

  1. [...] School. The preference to tighten down a much-beloved PCVS sparked protest after protest in a community though it didn’t seem most of anything was going to retreat a trustees’ decision. A few [...]

  2. [...] the iceberg. There are several more reasons to keep this school open, many of which can be found here. Most notably, PCVS recently competed in Rick Mercer’s Spread the Net campaign by helping to [...]

© 2011 Peterborough Needs PCVS Suffusion theme by Sayontan Sinha